image

Shades of life is a collection of 38 colorful chapters by 38 colorful authors/poets. Edited by the prolific and talented Saravana Kumar Murugan and published by Shades Publication Shades of Life is a perfect blend of human emotions and it’s colors. This post shall review the stories and poems in it.
Today I shall review the rest of the stories, and a comprehensive review about the book. So lets get started !!

The Balloon Seller, by Sanjay Thampy.

image

About the author
Sanjay Thampy is a chartered accountant by qualification and profession and writes occassionally.

The Review
I loved the concept of the story, the storystelling was a crafted one. The reader shall get a question in his/her mind when he/she starts the story? And as the answer unfolds, it makes the heart ache. However the cliche was obvious, and it was around the corner all the time, the story won my heart.

The Rating
I rate it 4/5

Hues of life, by Kirti Garg

image

About the poet
Kirti Garg is a from Haryana and is pursuing her 11th standard from BBV, Pilani.

The Review
This teenager has done quite a commendable job being so young. I loved the lines as they play with colors of life. She is no doubt a prodigy.

The Rating
I rate it 4.5/5

Dark pages of my diary, by Elora Rath

image

About the author
Elora Rath from Odisha has already written a book of hers, named I never expected… Life would change so much”

The Review
The story is definitely a dark paged story, It shows the plight of a girl’s life and the helplessness when she gets molested by a known face. The author no doubt has a command over the language, but I felt bored at times. I wouldn’t agree with the conclusion, as it is better to believe in  human than in a particular sex. Women are not always right and so are men. If at all this feeling of women and men continue, the society no doubt will be a sexist.

The Rating
I rate the story a 3.5/5

Double Jeopardy, by Enakshi Johri

image

About the author
Enakshi Johri is an active blogger and a regular author for Indus Woman Writing. She is also a freelance book reviewer.

The Review
The title was intriguing, the start was beautiful but the flow was lacking. The author tells a story in which too many things are happening too fast, the ending sequence could have been better. Yet the story is gripping and I would recommend it to be read.

The Rating
I rate this story a 3.5/5

The path of life, by Monojit Dutta

image

About the poet
Monojit Dutta is a passionate writer and is currently placed in Infosys.

The Review
This long poem, is beautiful, the poet has done a wonderful job with the title. The rhymes are there but they aren’t forced, they have come naturally which can be felt when it is read.

The Rating
I rate it a 5/5

Colors of a winged soul, by Monisha Vishwanath.

image

About the author
An artist, a writer and an absolute daydreamer hailing from Bangalore, Karnatka she can never imagine life without colors. She is into her final year of Bachelors of visual arts and topping her class ever since the start of the four year class.

The Review
If the first poem of the book by Neelam Saxena Chandra made the tasty base of the colorfull cake called shades of life, Monisha topped it with the perfectly creamy, cheesy and tasty icing. Giving the book a wholly new dimension, the author wrote a fantasy, fantasy !! I am never a fan !! But this one glued me. Meet Monisha with a completely out of the box and crazy storytelling style. The author’s poetic touch to the story was magical and I re-read it quite a few times. Kudos!! to the author.

The Rating
I rate this a 5/5.

THE COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW
“If you need a book which defines life and its colors in the most beautiful/abonimable/melancholic/ inspiring way this book is what you are looking for”

THE COVER
The cover, defines the theme. It is defintely a beautiful one. Good work!!
Rating: 5/5

THE CONTENT/COMPILING
The book is no doubt lenghty, yet I believe myriads of colors of life couldn’t be described with few words.
However the compiling could have been better, at times I felt stories to be boring that clinged together one after the other.

I rate the compiling/content a 3.5/5

THE EDITING
The editing definitely could have been better. There were simple mistakes at many places albeit editing such a lengthy book and so many stories and poems is not an easy job and I believe he has done his best.

I rate the editing a 3/5

MY TOP FIVE STORIES
The story that tops my list is “Humours of the Nemeses” by Vishal Bagaria
2. Colors of a winged soul, by Monisha
3. See you soon, by Pamela Bose
4. Rangeelo, by Vibhuti Bhandarkar
5. The Gulmohar, by Rashmi Kurup

MY TOP FIVE POEMS
The poem that tops my list is “Eternal colors of the nature”, by Dev Mishra
2. A handful of bliss, by Satyananda Sarangi
3. The path of life, by Monojit Dutta
4. Virgin Red Lips, by Aishwarya Chitransh
5. Embellished in blue, by Arna Sarka

There are certainly many other stories/poem that I loved and are close to my heart, which can be observed from my previous reviews, these stories just fitted my short list.

As I end this good read of Shades of life I rate the book in whole with a 3.5/5

Thank you all !! Congratulations to all the authors/poets of this book, congratulations team shades of life and team shades publications and last but not the least congratulations to the men behind this book Sarav Kumar Murugan and Sachin Shresta. I eagerly wait for shades of life-II

P.S: I also have a story in this book, I await your reviews and feedbacks on my story. Daswidaaniyaan !!

